How do I program for other-than-English?

Introduction. Explain stuff.

Document Standards

Lots of description and references.

HTML+

Concepts

[Is this just a glossary?]

Programming Languages

Desirable characteristics:

Ada

With Ada95, wide characters have become part of the standard for Ada. Ada does not have a good reputation for prototyping.

CLOS

We describe CLOS with other Lisps.

Dylan

Forth

The new ANSI Forth Standard does not specify the size of a "character" precisely in order to allow future changes. Forth is good for prototyping, and actively supported.

Functional languages

Typically allow user redefinition of character ... Haskell, ML, Gofer, ...

There are people working to make a notion of "Character Set Profile" part of the standard for ML.

Icon

Lisp

Good for prototyping. Different opinions about level of support.

Common Lisp

Common Lisp is monstrous. Lucid's Common Lisp supports double-byte characters. Kyoto Common Lisp is public domain; does it support kanji?

Common Lisp Object System

CLOS is reflexive.

Self?

Scheme

NewtonScript

Unicode based.

Perl

Larry Well et al. want to support all characters, but they want even more not to implement such support incorrectly. They continue to study.

PL/I

PL/I is said to support double-wide characters.

Python

Eight-bit clean. Waiting for compiler support [explain].

PostScript

Who knows?

Scheme

We describe Scheme with other Lisps.

ScriptX

See Kaleida.

SmallTalk

Well-supported, industrial strength. Reflexive. Supports international characters.

Quasar Knowledge Systems supply SmalltalkAgents which support Unicode. They ship now on Macintosh, with promises of Microsoft Windows and Unix for the future.

Telescript

General Magic is secretive, from the perspective of us individual developers.

TCL

Eight-bit clean.

Operating Systems

Kaleida

Describe.

Linux

Oberon

Plan-9

Plan-9 is Unicode-only, with UTF-8 encoding in the filesystem and 16-bit "runes" in the programs.

Taligent

Describe.

Windows NT

[Explain.]

Acknowledgements

KenD@apple.com (Ken Dickey) Charles Fiterman mfx@cs.tu-berlin.de (Markus Freericks) patrick_d_logan@ccm.jf.intel.com (Patrick D. Logan) mcdonald@kestrel.edu (Jim McDonald) "Steven D. Majewski" lmaturo@ix.netcom.com (Lawrence Maturo) torbenm@diku.dk (Torben AEgidius Mogensen) jvn@fermi.clas.Virginia.EDU (Julian V. Noble) rommel@hermes.bc.edu (Martin Rommel) cschell@world.std.com (Kate M Schell) schwartz@galapagos.cse.psu.edu (Scott Schwartz) sparre@meyer.fys.ku.dk (Jacob Sparre Andersen)

Cameron Laird's survey of computing environments for managing other-than-English texts/claird@phaseit.net